Here are a few interactions (per the title) I wanted to share and see what people think. Or you can add any similar interactions you've noticed.
I played Thrive in the Shadows with an opposing Far Watch Post on the board, and the card I discovered went up in mana. This seems wrong to me, as nowhere on the card does it say that I am "drawing" this card. Intended or bugged?
When a mage swaps spell costs with Barbaric Sorceress then plays a 1-cost Rune of the Archmage, the Grey Sage Parrot should not be able to recast that spell (my opinion). That spell originally cost 9, but when they played it, they only spent 1. Feels a little cheaty.
This last one is from Mercenaries, so feel free to skip (I know not nearly as many people play Mercs). I had Mr. Smite on board with Overboard activated. My opponent's Tidemistress Athissa cast Riptide on my Edwin. What ensued was a literally endless series of attacks, as every time Smite attacked, Athissa hit Edwin (who went WAY into negative health), causing Smite to strike again. He ended up clearing the entire enemy board, even killing Queen Azshara through her resurrection. Kinda feels like that shouldn't have happened.
"Be excellent to each other." -Bill and Ted
Thrive in the Shadows does draw the card even thought its not explicitly spelled out. Unless its spelled out 'discover a copy...' the effect will draw the card from your deck, kinda like Tracking, which I assume where discover's code came from. Have been like that for years. So that's working as intended.
That Grey Sage Parrot thing is also intended, I assume its because its originally created to work alongside Celestial Ink Set. Yeah, its kinda stupid that interaction, but that's how its coded since it was introduced. If mage isn't bshitting then its not a mage card I guess is the mindset here.
As for riptide, I dont see anything wrong because its coded to trigger each time there's an attack, and mr smite is attacking when overboard triggers.
Quote From dapperdogAs for riptide, I dont see anything wrong because its coded to trigger each time there's an attack, and mr smite is attacking when overboard triggers.
Riptide seems fine, but is Overboard working correctly? Its trigger is formulated as "after another friendly character is damaged this turn", but should a character be able to take damage when their health is not positive?
Quote From ZelgadisQuote From dapperdogAs for riptide, I dont see anything wrong because its coded to trigger each time there's an attack, and mr smite is attacking when overboard triggers.Riptide seems fine, but is Overboard working correctly? Its trigger is formulated as "after another friendly character is damaged this turn", but should a character be able to take damage when their health is not positive?
The problem is how hearthstone, and therefore mercs, are being coded. Both abilities read 'after' so they both happen after one another. So the code loops, presumably for 30 times, which is the common hard break in hearthstone. Very likely the code doesn't scan whether the target is dead because 99% of the time it'll never loop with anything and cannot be consistently manipulated by the player to do so
As for whether a character can take damage if health is a negative, I think we've seen this more than enough times for the answer to be, however silly, yes.
Probably will never be fixed/changed, unless it affects pvp. Mercs is pretty much the runt of the litter now, so I dont expect anyone, much less the devs, to pull their socks up and address this.
Maybe it's only me, but I hate the situation when you dredge and your opponent plays something like a Curse of Agony or a Psychic Scream, and it not only shuffles new cards in your deck, but also shuffles the entire deck.
I agree! I mean, it makes sense, since the cards literally say "shuffle" into your deck, but it kind of makes those cards more powerful than they already are. I noticed this issue long ago after playing Lorekeeper Polkelt. He arranges your deck for you, then your opponent shuffles something in, and your plan is shot to pieces.
Adding to your list of possible bugs: my Goldshire Gnoll keeps Muck-Pooling into itself. Have you seen this?
Quote From DragonDraenaAdding to your list of possible bugs: my Goldshire Gnoll keeps Muck-Pooling into itself. Have you seen this?
I definitely witnessed this a few times which seemed ridiculous. After a few transformations, it eventually did turn into a Lokholar the Ice Lord. Not sure how this ability should work exactly, but when there are candidates with the same highest mana cost, evolving into itself should just not happen, I think.
Great Victory » [ 14993 / 20000 ]
Yeah, this just happened to me this afternoon! Frustrating to be sure, but definitely within the rules. I wouldn't mind if they changed that, though.
Its not really a bug, its just how its coded. Evolve will always give you a minion higher costed than itself, but since gnoll is already 10 mana and there's no 11 mana minion in standard, it then reverts to the list of the closest mana cost, which is 10. So it allows for the gnoll to evolve into itself.
Stupid, but that's how it works. If there's a 11 cost minion in standard's future, then that will be what gnoll will evolve into.
Now this one is definitely a bug: in Mercenaries, if Finley uses Fish Feast to kill something, you don't get the health buff.
Somewhat related: why does Murky get offered attack buff treasures in PvE when he can't attack? Sure, Murk-Eye (or Finley) can make him attack, but if you're not using them, those are useless options.
You must be signed in to leave a comment. Sign in here.