Explain to me how blocking works again?

  • YourPrivateNightmare's Avatar
    Skeleton 1915 4037 Posts Joined 03/25/2019
    Posted 2 years, 4 months ago

    So here's the situation.

    My opponent attacks with all his stuff, I block with 3 of my miinions. He plays [Hearthstone Card (Judgement) Not Found] on his [Hearthstone Card (Ancient Yeti) Not Found] which wipes my board. However, despite having a blocker on the yeti (which died) he still punched my face.

    I thought blockers would remain as "phantom blocks" if killed by a spell before combat?

    Or does Overwhelm beat through phantom blockers? (because I never encountered that before)

    I tried having fun once.

    It was awful.

    0
  • Nirast's Avatar
    Content Admin Snow-Covered 810 739 Posts Joined 04/01/2019
    Posted 2 years, 4 months ago

    Yes, Overwhelm would still punch you in the face.

    2
  • Lightspoon's Avatar
    Merfolk 495 405 Posts Joined 04/01/2019
    Posted 2 years, 4 months ago

    If the blocker of an Overwhelm minion si removed before combat resolves, than the attacker inflicts full damage because the "placeholder" for the blocking minion is considered as having 0 health.

    "For what profit is it to a man if he gains the world, and loses his own soul?"

    1
  • YourPrivateNightmare's Avatar
    Skeleton 1915 4037 Posts Joined 03/25/2019
    Posted 2 years, 4 months ago
    Quote From Nirast

    Yes, Overwhelm would still punch you in the face.

    well....at least now I know...I could have won that game.

     

    goddammit

    I tried having fun once.

    It was awful.

    0
  • OldManSanns's Avatar
    Azir 1040 924 Posts Joined 08/05/2019
    Posted 2 years, 4 months ago

    Overwhelm also punches through barrier--i.e., if he didn't have JudgementBADCARDNAME and you had blocked the Ancient Yeti with something and then gave it barrier, then your blocker would take no damage but your nexus would receive 5.  (Not sure if that's as intended or not, but that's how it currently works.)

    0
  • FortyDust's Avatar
    Pumpkin 1135 1644 Posts Joined 05/29/2019
    Posted 2 years, 4 months ago
    Quote From OldManSanns

    Overwhelm also punches through barrier--i.e., if he didn't have Judgement and you had blocked the Ancient Yeti with something and then gave it barrier, then your blocker would take no damage but your nexus would receive 5.  (Not sure if that's as intended or not, but that's how it currently works.)

    I'm pretty sure the blocking unit's health is still subtracted from the Overwhelm damage in the case of Barrier.

    It's just that the damage assigned to the blocker is then negated (not the overflow damage to the nexus).

    1
  • Lightspoon's Avatar
    Merfolk 495 405 Posts Joined 04/01/2019
    Posted 2 years, 4 months ago

    If a minion with Barrier block one with Overwhelm, the blocking's health is subtracted from the attacker's damage that still pass onto the Nexus. Barrier prevents the defending minion's death by negating the damage it should suffer.

    Also if a spell with Drain targets a minion with Barrier, the protection is removed but there isn't any healing. In order to get an actual heal the spell must inflict damage.

    "For what profit is it to a man if he gains the world, and loses his own soul?"

    0
  • Leave a Comment

    You must be signed in to leave a comment. Sign in here.